Posted

print

favorite this post $550 / 3400ft2 - ISO Roommate - Derby hide this posting unhide

3400ft2 available jun 3

dogs are OK - wooof
furnished
house
w/d in unit
no smoking
attached garage
private bath
private room

This is your opportunity to live affordably in Wichita's quiet, safe suburb of Derby.

Derby is just 7 miles south/southeast from Wichita via K-15 and likewise from McConnell AFB. We now have many of the more popular restaurants, healthcare, and financial options you'll find in Wichita... without ever leaving the city unless you want to!

My house is located in a well-established residential area of Derby.

It's 1 block from an elementary school and park in one direction; another park in a different direction; a pre-school/daycare and governing church just a short walk away; within walking distance to the DRC (Derby Recreational Commission - think "YMCA" Derby-style); and fairly centrally located between both K-15 and Rock Rd, making commutes into Wichita (if that's where you work) primarily by highway/main thoroughfare. And, since Derby is a small community, nearly everything you might need is close by (at least relatively speaking).

What's available in my home:
Your own room
Your own bathroom
Your own garaged parking stall (good for small/average-sized vehicles - driveway and street parking if your vehicle won't fit)

Shared living areas:
Sitting room
Dining room
Kitchen
Family room w/ fireplace
Basement w/ washer and dryer (plus storage and open space, if needed)
Backyard with a 6 ft-plus wood privacy fence

Although I do have an established home (aka all my own furniture and such), you'll need to (minimally) have your own bedroom furniture. If you have other furniture, I'm sure we can work out where it can be placed so you feel welcome in "your own home", as well.

I do have a dog, so if you're allergic or have a fear of them, this isn't the place for you. You're also welcome to have one of your own, provided it's canine-friendly, housebroke, and fairly quiet (except for acceptable times of people trying to get into the yard, knocking on the door, etc.).

I'm also in the process of some remodeling/upgrading, so you must be willing to deal with some minor "inconvenience" during those times.

My home is a drug-free, non-smoking zone. Light recreational drinking is okay, given you're legal to do so and can "handle" your alcohol.

I'm a quiet, self-sufficient person and would prefer a roommate who's the same. This means, certainly we'll interact as roommates do, but I don't need to have lengthy conversations with you all the time. I also prefer to not have a lot of people over/running in and out of the house.

To be considered, you MUST...
Be gainfully and securely employed
Be honest and willing to provide (minimally) character references (NOT related to you)
Be willing to submit to a background check (You'll pay the fee for this.)
Be respectful of me, my home, and my personal space -- as I'll also be of you and your personal space
Be a responsible adult who knows how to clean up after yourself and is willing to help with household upkeep (shared space, lawn, etc.)

Financial investment:
$550/mo rent, plus the same as a deposit (length of lease and/or rental agreement is negotiable)
1/2 utilities (avg $100-$150/mo)
Your own groceries and personal expenses

If you have other questions, please feel free to ask.

Availability:
As soon as references and background check have cleared, and you have adequate funds to secure the rental agreement. (NOTE: I'll not "hold" a place for you, so you should be prepared to secure your part of this arrangement at the time of inquiry.)

You may email (via CL) or text show contact info ). NOTE: If you email, please alert me with a text, as I'm not the best at keeping up with the many emails I get day-to-day.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6893615560

posted:

updated:

best of [?]